Photo: Snow and avalanche fall in Kurdistan province

Kordestan, or Kurdistan is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. It is in the west of the country, bordering Iraq. The province of Kurdistan is 28,817 km2 in area and is located in the west of Iran. It is bound by Iraq on its west, the province of west Azerbaijan to its north, Zanjan to s northwest, and Kermanshah to its south.

The capital of Kurdistan is the city of Sanandaj. Other major cities of the province are Marivan, Baneh, Saqqez, Qorveh, Bijar, Kamyaran, Sarvabad and Divandareh

Kurdistan is one of the most mountainous regions in Iran and has a generally mild and quite pleasant climate throughout the spring and summer. Winters are long and can be very cold with heavy snowfalls.

Avalanche fall in Kurdistan province
Rescue workers helped a vehicle and its passengers caught in the avalanche, fell in the past two days in the border city of Bashmaq in Marivan, Kurdistan province.

Share your view!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.